The vineyardand wines

The Roussillon is without doubt the wine region which offers the largest variety of different wines. This diversity is a continually renewed invitation to discover new vintages, little known grape varieties, and the amazing colours of Rivesaltes…
You are always welcome at Arnaud de Villeneuve to join us and experience these new sensations.

The Roussillon

The Pyrénées Orientales department is the most southerly of mainland France. Between sea and mountain, it enjoys a particularly privileged environment. It has a classic Mediterranean climate, with plenty of sunshine, rainfall concentrated over short periods in autumn and spring and a prevailing northwesterly wind called the Tramontana.
At the heart of the department lies the plain of Roussillon. In the shape of an amphitheatre, it is protected by mountainous reliefs to the north, to the west and to the south. 3 rivers cross it, the Tech, the Tet and the Agly which flow into the Mediterranean to the east.
Everything comes together to create this magnificent setting for an exceptional wine area. The vine was established here by the Romans, who used Via Domitia and the Mediterranean to develop their trade from the first century B.C.

A patchwork of winegrowing areas

Our vineyards of more than 2000 hectares are mainly located in the north of the Roussillon plain. They spread over several geographical areas with varied characteristics. The hillsides of the Corbières are to the north and the the terraces of the Tet Valley and Agly are to the west with the Crest and Jas terraces and plateaux in the middle. And lastly the alluvial plains run closer to the sea.

See more...

Plot selection

The wide variety of soils that we have allows us to match vine and soil that perfectly suit the style of wine we are seeking to create. Everything depends on the teamwork between our winegrowers, wine technicians and the winemakers.
Each vine is catalogued according to its soil type, grape variety, age, growing methods used, potential quality and the usual period when it is at its best. It is thus designated as appropriate to the production of a specific wine.
This joint monitoring by the wine maker and the winery technicians over many years allows us to fine tune the plot selections and in that way to allow each vintage to develop its maximum potential.

Our wines

One of the specialties in the Roussillon is its Vins Doux Naturels production and in particular, Muscat de Rivesaltes and Rivesaltes. We also produce AOP (Appellation d’Origine Protegée) Côtes du Roussillon and Côtes du Roussillon Villages wines. A range completed by IGP (Indication Géographique Protégée) wines.

See more

Le Vignoble& Les Vins

Le Roussillon est sans aucun doute la région viticole qui offre la plus grande palette de vins différents. Cette diversité est une invitation sans cesse renouvelée à la découverte ; nouveau millésime, cépage méconnu, couleurs surprenantes des Rivesaltes...

Vous serez toujours les bienvenus chez Arnaud de Villeneuve pour éprouver de nouvelles sensations...

Le Roussillon

Le département des Pyrénées Orientales est le plus méridional de la France métropolitaine. Entre mer et montagne, il jouit d’un environnement particulièrement privilégié. Le climat méditerranéen y est typique, avec beaucoup de soleil, des précipitations concentrées sur de courtes périodes en automne et au printemps et un vent dominant de nord-ouest, la Tramontane.
Au cœur du département s’étend la plaine du Roussillon. En forme d’amphithéâtre, elle est protégée au nord, à l’ouest et au sud par des reliefs montagneux. Elle est parcourue par 3 cours d’eau, le Tech, la Têt et l’Agly qui se jettent dans la Méditerranée à l’est.
Tout est réuni pour faire de ce magnifique écrin une terre de vins exceptionnelle. La vigne y fut d’ailleurs implantée par les Romains, qui dès le premier siècle avant Jésus Christ, utilisèrent la Via Domitia et la Méditerranée pour en développer le commerce...

Mosaïque de terroirs

Notre vignoble de plus de 2000 hectares est majoritairement implanté au nord de la plaine du Roussillon. Il est réparti sur plusieurs zones géographiques aux caractéristiques variées. Au nord, les coteaux des Corbières, à l’ouest, les terrasses de la vallée de la Tet et de l’Agly, au centre, les terrasses et plateaux du Crest et du Jas. Plus proche de la mer enfin, les plaines alluvionnaires.

En savoir plus

Sélection parcellaire

La grande variété de terroirs dont nous disposons, nous permet de composer des sélections qui correspondent parfaitement au style de vin recherché. Tout repose sur le travail d’équipe entre nos vignerons, nos techniciens viticoles et nos vinificateurs.
Chaque vigne est répertoriée et caractérisée en fonction de son terroir, son cépage, son âge, les méthodes culturales pratiquées, son potentiel qualitatif et la période habituelle de maturité optimale. Elle est donc pré-affectée à la vinification d’un vin particulier.
Le suivi conjoint par le vigneron et les techniciens de la cave sur de nombreuses années nous permet d’affiner les sélections parcellaires et ainsi de vinifier chaque millésime en exprimant au mieux son potentiel.

Nos Vins

Une des spécificités du Roussillon est sa production de Vins Doux Naturels et en particulier les Muscat de Rivesaltes et Rivesaltes. Nous élaborons également des Vins d’Appellation d’Origine Protégée en Côtes du Roussillon, Côtes du Roussillon Villages. Une palette complétée par des vins d’Indication Géographique Protégée.

En savoir plus